England beat Bulgaria at Wemberly 4-0 in their first test of the Euro campaign. They also beat Switzerland, on their own turf, 3-1. But are they looking good enough to forge ahead and go all the way?

Well, one thing is certain. The release of the new England kit featuring small multicoloured St George crosses has caused a bit of fuss across many a blog.

Comments like, “It looks like an exotic strain of dandruff” and “Reminds me of confetti, hundreds and thousands” wasn’t really what the designer Peter Saville probably wanted. But I’m sure Peter has a thick enough skin to cope with these remarks.

Other comments ridiculing the kit design such as, “We can’t see the design from row Z’, frankly are a little silly to say the least.

Me, I like the design. I’m a big fan of subtle treats and don’t think you need to whack a big dollop of colour or a huge headline on something to get your message across all the time. Sometimes you need to show control in design, not just football.

When I read the brief Peter was given (keep the strip predominately white) I believe he nailed it. Although I do think they should play in the red kit. Red looks more menacing for the opponent to face, but that’s my opinion. The new design is wearable out of the game too. Chuck it on with a pair of jeans and off to the pub you go.

Hopefully the new kit signifies a fresher thinking England, compared to their performance in South Africa.

