The 80’s are back in a big way with the recent release of Air New Zealand’s 80’s themed in flight safety video, starring Richard Simmons. Simmons, a fitness personality, bopped his way through a decade of big hair and fluorescent lycra pants. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3iaTEgoezNQ Now, Ikea has released their new spot featuring the 1980’s hit Jona Lewie song “You’ll Always Find me in the Kitchen at Parties”. I feel this is just the beginning of an 80’s revival. I can’t speak for everyone, but for me the 80’s was a good time. Yes, Thatcher took our milk away from primary schools all over England. Yes, coal mining went South (pardon the pun). Yes, I got beat up by my brother. BUT, drinking less milk made me thinner, I didn’t grow up to be a coal miner to suffer later in life from a respiratory disease and getting a slap now and again from my brother toughened me up. So the 80’s wasn’t all that bad, and neither is this ad.

