My first reaction to these print ads for IKEA (created in 2010) raised a smile, then I thought wait a minute! These ads are highlighting the product weakness of having to build the bleeding thing once I get it home, definitely no benefit here. But then i thought that the buy and build method of kitting out your abode from IKEA has revolutionised the home improvement market and offering a service to build it for you is a natural service to offer. So why not. There’s no point hiding the fact you’ll probably be on all fours counting screws and checking if you have the Allen Key. So I smiled again as I thought of this simple truth and the times I’ve cursed the instructions and the panels I’ve attached the wrong way around. I can’t say I would use this service but I can imagine there’s quite a substantial amount of well manicured nails out there that would.

